Cycle nutrition, clothing, gear etc.

I sometimes wonder about the cycling/ sports industry.

As more and more folk take up going out on their bikes, so the pressure mounts to buy special foods/ gels etc., drink special concoctions, wear special clothing & footwear.

For a while I’ve thought that a lot of it must be a load of tosh for the vast majority of us, this was confirmed for me in a BBC Panorama report as well as other news items.

So what do I do?

Drink water but not much, occasionally with a bit of orange juice (or wine) in it.

Make up goodie bags of nuts, raisons dates, dried fruit, bits of chocies, jelly babies etc which I can nibble on from a triathlon bag on my crossbar (or whatever it’s called nowadays).

Look for bargain bike shoes or clothing.

And it works for me.

But I have spent big & enjoy good bib shorts, winter bike shoes (it’s cold in Scotland sometimes).

So maybe some of it does the stuff, but at least I don’t seem to but into it all.

 

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-18863293

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01l1yxk

One thought on “Cycle nutrition, clothing, gear etc.

Leave a Reply

