The Team Outfit

NBCC Jumpe

North Berwick Cycling Club outfit

I’ve never been much of a one for uniforms (apart from the cultural type – eg my days as a part-time university hippie).

But I’ve been inveigled into a couple recently. It’s all the fault of this cycling lark. I go out with a bunch of FOSSILS most Tuesdays, with a compulsory coffee & scones stop en route at various establishments in the vicinity. We also arrange trips away occasionally both in Scotland & abroad. One of our number suggested we should call ourselves something, I suppose it might stop the more derogatory remarks that might come our way?

So after a committee decision we became The B-Spoke Ones. Then it became a bit more serious and a suggestion was made to have cycling bib shorts and tops. So the outfit was committee designed & became the rather garish outfit shown in my profile picture, proceeding up Alpes d’Huez before the 100th Tour de France came up (twice) in the afternoon. At first I thought this outfit is so totally O.T.T., but then gradually came to like wearing it. At least it gives the motorists something colourful to aim for, or more hopefully avoid.

I also cycle with another more mixed group, loosely based around North Berwick & East Lothian. It is all organised as a Yahoo group & by emails.  There are a fast group that set off at 8 am, and a more sedate group at 9 am every Sunday. You can guess which group I’m in. Once again the idea was passed around for a group top and after much online discussion a design was settled on with lots of advertising on the rear to offset the costs. This time I didn’t succumb, but followed the many black & orange outfits in my undemure B-Spokes one.

But, one of the gang had bought a jumper, but he thought it was a bit daft advertising a local builders firm & not his own, so he’d only worn it twice. When offered the offending item for a total knock down price I couldn’t refuse. So I now have a dilemma.

Which one should I wear. Do I enter Sportives as a B-Spoke or a NBCC (North Berwick Cycling Club)? Or maybe I should just go along incognito. I think the B-Spoke might win as it is so easy to pick out in event photos and I like being a bit of a peacock, but then again . . . . . . . .

Leave a Reply

