Sometimes it’s just not . . . . . . . .

An East Lothian pheasant, not dashing out.

An East Lothian pheasant, not dashing out.

. . . . . got your number.

It’s been a funny autumn so far. The wildlife seems to be going a bit nuts. Drivers seem to be a bit less courteous or maybe less thoughtful, birds seem to have their minds on other things.

So – what’s the upshot of all of this.

The Lucky Times

Crossing the hills, the sheep take it into their minds to dash out in front of you, but decide to change course and head back to the edge of the road.

At the edge of the woods the deer skitter in front of you but head off into the trees.

The mad pheasants whizz across just before you, without getting that bit too close.

The flies & bugs that batter your face when your mouth is closed.

And as for humans, we manage to scrape past a big car belting round the blind bend towards us, with our wheels teasing the verges of the road and my back wheel skidding as I brake while angled over. Or the other one, when I was coming up the High Street in our village, she reversed out in front of me, I just managed to scrape round the rear of the ‘Chelsea Tractor’ without making contact. Went back and asked her politely to make sure she looked more carefully next time she pulled out and she said “But I did see you”. I was too flabbergasted to say or think of anything & just rode on shaking my head.

The Bad

Not to me, luckily, but to a cycling buddy.

On a Sunday we go out with a local group. I go out on at 9 am with the slower crew, a coffee stop is almost compulsory. He went out with the 8 am fast crew. I’ve been with them a couple of times, but just feel I’m holding them back when it gets to the hills, plus I feel knackered. Anyways, they were in a group speeding down one of our local hills at 35+ mph when a pheasant flew out into his front wheel. He went from fast to zero in a fraction of time and was thrown right off the bike. He was knocked out for a bit, but recovered consciousness but had a cracked shoulder blade, road rash & skid burns. After a hospital visit he was later back home to recover. The bike’s front fork was broken.

So sometimes, you just can’t do anything about it, fate seems to have its eye on you. So be thankful for the other times when it’s just not your day.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes it’s just not . . . . . . . .

    1. fossilcyclist Post author

      Chyrel,

      I see you’ve been in the wars as well, hope your recovery is good. My friend is back home, very sore & achy and off the bike for a while. I was really shocked when I heard the news.

      As an aside, I would like to follow your blog, but cannot find a button for it.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Chyrel Gomez

        Thank you. I had the bike crash way back June of this year. I’m happily back on the saddle now but I still have a bit of a trauma when descending a steep paved road. I think the follow button is in the upper left or right corner of my blog. Not too sure, since I’m mobile as of this writing. I’m fairly new to WordPress. Still getting used to the platform. Followed you, btw.

        Like

  1. fossilcyclist Post author

    Alas, no button – you can put one on using customise or widgets (under the little world with your name beside it). Let me know if you manage to get it working. Hope the trauma bit works its way out of the system.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

