The Challenge Day 5: Adventures

Rachel (RachelSquirrel) has challenged me, not a cycling challenge as such but a photograph and writing one.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

The beach at Tyninghame

The beach at Tyninghame

I don’t usually put stuff on about our family but I had not realised when I took on this challenge that the last day coincided with the 3rd year since my stepson’s death. I knew him since he was young and he was a son to me. Before he died he made me promise that I would always have ‘adventures’ with his daughter. The photo is of the beach where we scattered his ashes, taken this morning.

She comes over from South Africa soon, so what have I got planned for her? My granddaughter is an adventurous soul, though still young. The list includes a choice cycling (of course), rock climbing, body boarding, canoeing, skiing or sledging at the snow dome, gorge walking, coasteering, exploring caves etc. etc. plus general galavanting. I don’t see her often and she brings so much joy. I’m sure we’ll all have a fabulous time together.

I am going to nominate Chyrel from Ride All the Way for the challenge as she may have feared I might. She takes some interesting and unusual stories, has a fund of tales in her part of the world and is a mean cyclist.

8 thoughts on “The Challenge Day 5: Adventures

  1. Chyrel

    Reading this post game me a lot of emotions. This is probably the first time I’ve read something personal about you. And thank you for sharing that part of you to your readers. I’m sorry to hear about your step-son.

    Also, I nearly spilled my drink when I read your description of me. It made me laugh and smile at the same time. Haha.

    Cheers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. fossilcyclist Post author

      I tend not to put personal things, family info or photos online, I’m maybe old fashioned that way? But I feel so lucky in the life I’ve managed to lead. Got a brilliant love and family. I’ve climbed, sailed, canoed, skied, cycled, motorbiked etc around various bits of the world. Some rubbish has happened on the way but wouldn’t change it as the cliché goes, not that I could. Maybe little bits might slip out as I continue my blogging career. And I do like the various posts that folk write, badass or not!

      Alastair

      Like

      Reply
      1. Chyrel

        I get you. Reading your comment made me ask myself if I share any personal stuff into the blog. I think I do. Yeah, I think I do, But, I just write what I like, my experiences raw and all those stuff. It’s an outlet for me with my attempts at being creative and trying to help some people out by putting some helpful information. I don’t know who I’ll pass the challenge to. Already on my 3rd day. It’s quite fun.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

