Target, Ice & Joy

Well made it. Since I started cycling in earnest, when I retired, my annual mileage has gradually increased. This year, early on, I decided I’d try for 6,000 miles. The other day I made it. The average temperature for the ride was down to -2º. There was ice on and beside the road with the field covered in hoar but we did over 50 miles though we had to stop early on for coffee, scones & a warmup. It was a weird day of temperature inversions. The higher we climbed out of the valleys the warmer it became, followed by descent into the chill zone again.

I also found I had ascended over 110,000 metres during the year, over 12 1/2 Everests – makes me tired just to think about it!!

Not long after I passed my goal we stopped so I could frolic with the angels.

IMG_3492

Frolicking with the angels

IMG_0789

A satisfied character?

IMG_0795

The family shield

IMG_0791

Inscription part 1

IMG_0792

Inscription part 2

IMG_0793

Inscription part 3

IMG_0794

Inscription part 4

IMG_0800

Below the angel

19 thoughts on “Target, Ice & Joy

Leave a Reply

